Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~Check your pants~ December 11, 2013

liarRecently I had the pleasure of being lied to, straight to my face.  Lucky for me, I have the uncanny ability to read my children’s minds and know when their telling me a tall tale.  Not really…they are just terrible liars, praise God!  I like to think it’s due in part to the fact that Jesus loves me enough to help me survive the preteen years by making them transparent.

Having said all that, it’s story time.

All three of my older children attend the same school.  There’s not much one can do and get away with when there are two siblings anxious to bust you.  When the guilty party is the daughter, you better believe her two older brothers are chomping at the bit as to which one is going to rat her out first.  This particular time was no different.

My sweet girl has herself a little crush.  You should know that we have told them all they are much too young for dating at this point.  Friendship is good and encouraged, however referring to someone as your boyfriend/girlfriend is frowned upon.  Her first mistake was crushing on her brother’s best friend.  Her second mistake was breaking the rule by telling half the school he was her boyfriend.  Her third mistake, and the one that sealed her fate, was denying the above to my face with both of her brothers in the same room.  As soon as she shook her head, complete with darting eyes to avoid meeting my glare, both boys erupted into “Huh-uh, you’re lying!” and “OHHHH, you are so busted!!”

One has to chuckle.

To make matters worse, she tried to spin a little story as if she had misunderstood my very direct question, “Are you claiming (name to remain unknown) as your boyfriend?”  The more she attempted to cover her lie, the more she jumbled up her words.

Being the awesome mom that I am, I blurted out “That’s right, keep lying to me.  God’s gonna make you choke on them lies if you don’t watch it!”  (Yes, I know that is bad grammar, but I am from the South so cut me some slack.)

The look on her face was priceless as her daddy busted out laughing.  As amusing as it all was, there is a lesson to be learned here.

There was a reason she was struggling to find words.  She knew she wasn’t speaking the truth and was truly having difficulty making the lie come out of her mouth.

I feel certain that everyone has at some point in their life told a lie.  It may be a little, white lie or a big production that spun so wildly out of control that you could barely remember the truth by the time it was all said and done.

The trouble with lying is, once you’ve done it a few times, it gets easier and easier.  It starts with a fib to avoid having to explain your actions to a loved one.  Then it progresses to faking sickness to get out of your responsibilities.  Before you know it, your walking around with flaming britches and no one believes a word you say anymore.

Want to know what the Bible says about liars?

“The Lord detests lying lips, but he delights in people who are trustworthy.”

(Proverbs 12:22)

“We are careful to be honorable before the Lord, but we also want everyone else to see that we are honorable.”

(2 Corinthians 8:21)

It’s pretty cut and dry.  No one likes to be lied to.  It’s a relationship killer.  And as I explained to my girl, “if you will lie to me about the little things, what’s to stop you from lying about something bigger?”

Maybe there is something that you haven’t been completely honest about and it’s eating you up inside trying to keep your secret.  Search your heart and ask God to reveal to you were you may be dealing with un-truths.  Get that junk out of your heart.  Honesty is most certainly the only policy if we are to honor the Lord in our words, actions and thoughts.

So check your pants, brothers & sisters and unless your clothing is constructed of flame-retardant material, you may want to extinguish the fire.

 

Leave a Reply

