Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~Sleep is my enemy~ December 17, 2013

“So how long are you going to laze around doing nothing?
    How long before you get out of bed?
A nap here, a nap there, a day off here, a day off there,
    sit back, take it easy—do you know what comes next?
Just this: You can look forward to a dirt-poor life,
    poverty your permanent houseguest!”

(Proverbs 9-11 The Message)

This time of year is the absolute worst for people like me.  You know the type, the ones who thrive off sunshine and warm temps.  I am seriously dragging right about now.  This morning, I laid in the bed tuning out the sound of my alarm as the sound of the wind whipping outside my window drove me further under my nice, warm blankie.  While the minutes ticked by, I did a mental rundown of all the things that needed my attention.  My desire for more rest had me trying to adjust my schedule to accommodate my laziness.  Trouble is, my agenda for today is already jam-packed with not a lot of wiggle room.  So I rolled myself out of bed, rather reluctantly, and headed for the coffee pot.

What if I had went the other route…choosing to lay in bed rather than complete my normal morning routine?  Ultimately, thinking about the trickle down effect is what got me out of bed in the first place.  You see, if I choose to neglect my responsibilities, it doesn’t impact only me, it alters the life of those around me as well.  I am the “alarm clock” for my children, so as momma goes, so goes the house.  It kind of sets the tone for a bad day when it begins with your mother running behind you like a drill sergeant barking orders to “hurry or you’re going to make us late!”  Who is making us late, mommy dearest??

Most of my life experience revolves around being a mommy, but the same application can work for non-parents too.  What happens when you drag your heels and are late for work?  Who has to rush around picking up the slack, doing the work of two while you enjoy a little more slumber?

I know we all occasionally oversleep, unintentionally, that isn’t what I am referencing.  I’m talking about those who choose to succumb to idleness knowing the negative impact it’s going to have on their lives and those around them.  No one ever gained success in life by sleeping in on a regular basis….just sayin’.

In my desire to be a Proverbs 31 woman, I chose today to not eat of the bread of idleness but to rise and tend to the affairs of my family in hopes that my children would rise up and bless me and that my husband would praise me also. 

Having the same routine every single day can be tiresome & boring, but just think of what would happen if we all decided to not do our part tomorrow.  So shake it off, weary one, I am right there in the trenches with you!

7 am...that's funny, couldn't find an alarm with my actual time!

7 am…that’s funny, couldn’t find an alarm with my actual time!

 

2 Responses to “~Sleep is my enemy~”

  1. Julia Tomiak Says:

    I’m not feeling it either, Valerie. I feel groggy, exhausted, and unfocused. Thanks for the inspiration to get myself in gear- for the right reasons. 🙂


Leave a Reply

