Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~Freedom of Speech, Part 2~ December 20, 2013

I have gotten quite a bit of feedback from my previous post and rather than edit it or add to the comment feed, I decided to post part 2 in order to clarify some of what I feel may have been misunderstood@ https://peacefulpromises.wordpress.com/2013/12/20/freedom-of-speech/.

First let me say that I welcome the criticism and debate because it means that people are thinking and that’s what I want to encourage…to think of one another’s perspective.  With that being said, my main purpose in my initial post was to pose the following question:

While A & E may have acted within their legal rights…does that make it right?

I am not defending Mr. Robertson, he speaks rather crudely at times & I think there are more delicate ways of making your point.  He was not speaking on behalf of all Christians, but for himself alone.  Not all believers would have said things in the same manner he chose.  However, I am defending Americans rights to speak freely outside of the workplace without fear of losing their jobs as a result.  I would have been equally upset if someone was fired for their nationality, whom they choose to love, where they choose to worship, what the choose to watch, read or listen to.  I personally want to do my best to reflect God’s love to all people.  That includes those whose opinions vary from my own and people who make statements that I would consider uncouth.

 

3 Responses to “~Freedom of Speech, Part 2~”

  1. Couldn’t agree more, Valerie. If we can accept and fight for freedom of speech for ourselves, then we must accept and fight for freedom of speech for those we disagree with. Thanks for the link to the full article, btw. Pays to be fully informed.

  2. lilly and bob Says:

    Mr. Robertson when asked the question on homosexuals should have responded “It is written in the word of God”. Let the Bible speak and stand on the Holy Spirit. (LB) Romans 1:18 God shows His anger from heaven against all sinful men- vs 19- the truth about God is known to them instinctively. God has put this knowledge in their hearts. vs 20- They will have no excuse when they stand before God at Judgment Day. vs 26- women turned against God’s natural plan for them and indulged in sex sin with each other. vs 27- men instead of having a normal sex relation with women, burned with lust for each other, men doing shameful things with other men. 1 Corinthians 6:9,10- Don’t you know that those doing such things have no share in the Kingdom of God ? Those who live immoral lives who are homosexuals will have no share in His Kingdom


Leave a Reply

