Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~Freedom of Speech??~ December 20, 2013

When the news first broke of Phil Robertson’s suspension from Duck Dynasty, I wasn’t going to jump on the proverbial soap box, but a little something kept nagging me so here goes.

constitutionThere are two very important inalienable rights that have been violated:

  1. Freedom of Speech
  2. Freedom of Religion

Let’s address the first, freedom of speech.  Is there really any freedom in speech when one is fired for stating his opinion in an interview in which his opinion was asked?  I could see if the man referenced his employer as if he were a spokesman for the company, but he did not.  While this is the most recent injustice regarding someone’s right to speak freely, it certainly isn’t the first nor will it be the last.  Mr. Robertson clearly has views and morals that differ from a large number of people, my recommendation would be that those people should not watch his show or read his articles.  He is going to offend you.  I would bet that there are some articles & shows out there that he finds offensive, ones that attack his family and their position on some very sensitive subjects.  Why is that considered acceptable any more that what he said or did?  If we start allowing people to be fired for their own personal beliefs, such as where they stand on gay marriage, what’s to stop companies from firing employees for other beliefs such as: unwed mothers, choice of religion, momma’s who breastfeed their 4 year old, what type of head covering you wear, or your political stance.  It sounds ridiculous, because it is but that’s the road we are on if this type of behavior continues.

Now, freedom of religion, because let’s be honest, folks, that’s what this is really about.  The man is a Christian and is under fire for standing up for what that religion believes.  Being a Christian is a choice, just as being Buddhist, Jewish or Atheist is a choice.  When you publicly declare your religious beliefs, you are making known what you personally have faith in, what standards you live by and what things you believe are wrong.  Because we live in a country that supports our rights to worship whom we choose, we are going to butt heads time to time.  We don’t have to believe what another believes, that’s the beauty of this freedom.  Odds are we won’t likely understand why someone chooses a different faith than us, and we don’t have to but we should show one another respect.  On that note, may I point out that respect is a two way street.  How can you expect someone to respect your decisions if you continually bash theirs when they don’t line up with yours?

Before anyone asks, yes I have read the article.  While he does reference homosexual behavior, it is not the only thing the man talks about as the media would have you believing.

Here are a couple of statements that have conveniently escaped the news reels:

“We’re Bible-thumpers who just happened to end up on television,” he tells me. “You put in your article that the Robertson family really believes strongly that if the human race loved each other and they loved God, we would just be better off. We ought to just be repentant, turn to God, and let’s get on with it, and everything will turn around.”

As far as Phil is concerned, he was literally born again. Old Phil—the guy with the booze and the pills—died a long time ago, and New Phil sees no need to apologize for him: “We never, ever judge someone on who’s going to heaven, hell. That’s the Almighty’s job. We just love ’em, give ’em the good news about Jesus—whether they’re homosexuals, drunks, terrorists. We let God sort ’em out later, you see what I’m saying?”

Gee, I wonder why the sensationalistic journalists aren’t wildly circulating these quotes like they are the others?

I will say that he is blunt.  His speaks directly about all things, not just his faith.  He is a rough around the edges, country boy so why would anyone be shocked when he talks like one?

Again, I certainly believe this is about more than just this one interview.  Once you open the doors to punish someone based on their personal opinions, can you even imagine the consequences that would bear?  Let us all remember the country that we live in.  Our constitution affords us all certain rights and those rights are in serious jeopardy, folks.

1st Amendment: Freedom of Speech, Press, Religion and Petition

Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances

For those of you who would like to read the GQ article in it’s entirety, you can do so at http://www.gq.com/entertainment/television/201401/duck-dynasty-phil-robertson#ixzz2o16g92Vz

However, if foul language offends you,(from the author not Robertson), I would give this one a pass.

**After receiving much feedback, I posted a follow-up @ https://peacefulpromises.wordpress.com/2013/12/20/freedom-of-speech-part-2/***

 

12 Responses to “~Freedom of Speech??~”

  1. “Congress shall make no law”

    A&E, the TV station, isn’t Congress. A private organization is well within its rights to fire someone for saying things they don’t like.

  2. blmaluso Says:

    Thanks for your post…very true words. I do have a comment. You stated, “Being a Christian is a choice, just as being Catholic, Buddhist, Jewish or Atheist is a choice.” I am Catholic, and I can tell you with 100% certainty, I am a Christian:-) As are all true Catholics. Have a joyful and blessed day!
    Bernadette

    • VERY true…I certainly didn’t mean to imply that Catholic’s are not Christian! I have some very good friends who are Catholic as well and I do hope they don’t think that is what I meant! Thank you for making that comment so I could clarify.

  3. blmaluso Says:

    A&E, the TV station, is not Congress. However, I find it strange that they would fire a man whose show is based on his Christian values, for stating those values in an interview, where he was asked a specific question. Isn’t it also strange that a certain group of people, who are most probably NOT viewers or fans of the show, would be the cause of that firing/suspension. Maybe I could understand more fully, if AFTER the comment was made, the ratings would go down, and then A&E would make a business decision to let them go.

    The TV, music and movie business brings absolute garbage in front of America’s eyes, and I can tell you, most of what is spewed offends me and my faith DEEPLY. But guess what….I don’t call for any of them to be silenced. I just quietly live my life in my faith, stand up for what I believe in, and TURN OFF the garbage I don’t want to invade my space. I am certain of myself and my beliefs, maybe that is why I can live at peace in a crazy and sometimes disgusting world.

    Maybe the LGBT crowd don’t have that inner peace?

    • ” However, I find it strange that they would fire a man whose show is based on his Christian values”

      Probably because many people mean different things when they say “Christian values”. There are a large percentage of Christians out there who are pro-gay rights.

      “I don’t call for any of them to be silenced.”

      Neither do I. Of course, I also don’t watch any ‘reality’ tv, and have never watched Duck Dynasty even before this.

      Still, this has to do with the desires of the company. If they don’t want certain things said on their channel, that’s up to them. And everyone else is free to voice their support or opposition, as the case may be.

      “Maybe the LGBT crowd don’t have that inner peace?”

      Being denied certain things for what they (and I) view of as bad reasons doesn’t make for a lot of peaceful feelings, no.

      • blmaluso Says:

        “Being denied certain things for what they (and I) view of as bad reasons doesn’t make for a lot of peaceful feelings, no.”

        Sorry, bad things happen to good people every single day. That is the way of the world. Exactly why I stated that I can have peace while so much garbage is churning around me.

        You have no idea what I have endured in my life, or what my own demons are. I don’t ask for the world to “Ok” my behavior or sins. I take responsibility for my life and my happiness; and that includes treating all with love and respect. Doesn’t mean I have to say that a sin is not a sin.

        The peace of Jesus is the only thing that will calm and bless a person’s spirit. True Christians know this- although the process of change and inner healing is difficult, and usually takes years to work through.

        Anyway, you are right. Free enterprise dictates that the company should be free to fire anyone they choose to, and have the right to stand for certain things. They should have the right to stand up for their beliefs. Hmmm…brings to mind the Chick-Fil-A uproar or some of these small bakeries who have been targeted due to their beliefs(?)

        We will see how many who say they do not support the termination, will continue to view A&E. I will not be watching their station. And I have only seen Duck Dynasty once or twice.

        Thanks for the dialog. It’s important that we all remember to respect and love eachother.

      • “You have no idea what I have endured in my life, or what my own demons are.”

        No I don’t. And my comment wasn’t meant to imply anything about you personally.

        “Doesn’t mean I have to say that a sin is not a sin.”

        Just to throw this in here, I don’t accept the concept of ‘sin’. And even if I did, I wouldn’t view two consenting adults loving each other as one. But that’s just me.

        “Hmmm…brings to mind the Chick-Fil-A uproar or some of these small bakeries who have been targeted due to their beliefs(?)”

        Targeted how? People said they wouldn’t eat there. I don’t. I imagine some people will say they won’t watch A&E now as well. That’s their right.

    • ” However, I find it strange that they would fire a man whose show is based on his Christian values”

      Probably because many people mean different things when they say “Christian values”. There are a large percentage of Christians out there who are pro-gay rights.

      “I don’t call for any of them to be silenced.”

      Neither do I. Of course, I also don’t watch any ‘reality’ tv, and have never watched Duck Dynasty even before this.

      Still, this has to do with the desires of the company. If they don’t want certain things said on their channel, that’s up to them. And everyone else is free to voice their support or opposition, as the case may be.

      “Maybe the LGBT crowd don’t have that inner peace?”

      Being denied certain things for what they (and I) view of as bad reasons doesn’t make for a lot of peaceful feelings, no.

  4. blmaluso Says:

    NotAScientist – thanks for stating your views. You and I have two opposing belief systems. That is the freedom we both still have in this country. Have a great day:-)

  5. lilly and bob Says:

    lilly and bob Says:
    December 21, 2013 at 12:47 am
    Mr. Robertson when asked the question on homosexuals should have responded “It is written in the word of God”. Let the Bible speak and stand on the Holy Spirit. (LB) Romans 1:18 God shows His anger from heaven against all sinful men- vs 19- the truth about God is known to them instinctively. God has put this knowledge in their hearts. vs 20- They will have no excuse when they stand before God at Judgment Day. vs 26- women turned against God’s natural plan for them and indulged in sex sin with each other. vs 27- men instead of having a normal sex relation with women, burned with lust for each other, men doing shameful things with other men. 1 Corinthians 6:9,10- Don’t you know that those doing such things have no share in the Kingdom of God ? Those who live immoral lives who are homosexuals will have no share in His Kingdom


Leave a Reply

