Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~Is it time to let go?~ December 31, 2013

Undoubtedly the Lord is trying to make a point for me and mine.  It seems like everywhere I look, I am faced with the reoccurring message of letting go.

“Is what you’re trying to hold onto holding you back from something greater?’

“You may feel very secure in the pond that you are in, but God has something awesome and new in store for you, yet, if you are afraid to let Him lead you out of that pond, you will never know that that He has an ocean for you to sail on…Holding onto something that is good for you now, may be the very reason why you don’t have something better.”

And in my own thought process, I continually find myself at war with feelings of anxiety at the thought of losing what is familiar.

Change is scary, at least for creatures of habit like myself.  At the same time, I can appreciate the fact that remaining stagnant doesn’t automatically equal safety.

Have you ever heard the expression, “familiarity breeds contempt”?  I wonder if that’s the place that I currently find myself in.  Has my inability to accept change and my outright defiance towards something new caused me to settle into an unpleasant place?  I feel like Oscar the Grouch…”this is MY house….these are MY things…this is MY LIFE!  And you can’t make me move on!”

Thankfully my deeply rooted faith wouldn’t let me keep my mad face on for too long.  I turned to one of my favorite books in Scripture for some help:

“But forget all that—
    it is nothing compared to what I am going to do.
For I am about to do something new.
    See, I have already begun! Do you not see it?
I will make a pathway through the wilderness.
    I will create rivers in the dry wasteland.”

(Isaiah 43:18-19 NLT)

I don’t want to be the girl who is so busy looking backwards that I completely miss what is right in front of my face.  Some of life’s circumstances look bleak and downright awful…to the point that you can’t possibly see any good ever coming from it.  However, we are getting this story one page at a time while God is working with the whole book so doesn’t it make sense to trust His plans over our own?let go

 

4 Responses to “~Is it time to let go?~”

  1. Carl Says:

    Great post today – it is always challenging to believe strongly enough that no matter what challenges we face today and no matter how difficult they seem that God has a plan for us. When one door closes there is always another door waiting to open with new opportunities for growth in all areas of our lives.

  2. Closed fists cannot receive. Open your hands, and be ready to receive all He has to offer. I’ll be looking forward to hearing all about your new blessings in the coming year.


Leave a Reply

