Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~New Year, New _________~ January 1, 2014

I haven’t flipped my lid, I left a blank in the title of this post intentionally BECAUSE the new year holds something different for each and every one of us!

First off, HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!  Welcome to day #1 of 2014!

I have a friend who posted a challenge of sorts on facebook yesterday and I’ve asked her permission to share with you.  It’s funny, I say friend but we’ve actually never met!  We have a mutual friend who thought we could benefit from the encouragement that the other offers…both of us through the wild and wonderful world that is the blogosphere.  Just another reason why I love the internet…it allows believers to “meet” and grow together that may not have otherwise ever been able to connect…so cool but totally unrelated so back on topic!

Jennifer and her family have chosen 3 things for the new year:

  1. Family Motto
  2. One Word
  3. Life Verse

My mind was blown.  What an awesome concept!  My family and I are totally onboard.  So we sat down together and decided what our family motto was going to be for the entire year.

We actually settled on two so I will share the one our 5 year old suggested: I will use kind words.  How sweet is that?  And it is definitely something we could all benefit from in the coming year.

Next up is the one word challenge, which is personal to each individual.  My choice: Reckless  I want to live with complete abandon, sold out for Jesus.  I want to relinquish my need for control and follow whole heartedly where the Lord leads.

The life verse, much like the one word, is up to the individual.  Based on the challenges I faced in 2013 and the changes I hope to see in 2014, my life verse for the year will be: “Let your eyes look straight ahead; fix your gaze directly before you.  Give careful thought to the paths for your feet and be steadfast in all your ways.”  Proverbs 4:25-26new yearI encourage you all to take this challenge with me.  And if you do, and you don’t mind to share, please do so in the comments.  I would love to hear from you all.

As for the blank in the title, some ideas to fill that in:  You, Direction, Attitude, Motivation, Perspective, Vision…the list could go on.  I’m going with New Year, New Outlook.

Thank you, to Jennifer Miller for sharing this idea on social media and giving me and others a jumpstart on deciding to make the new year one full of positive changes.  If you would like to read more from Jennifer, you can do so at http://www.parentingsteps.org/

 

8 Responses to “~New Year, New _________~”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    Thanks Val for the shout out! I call you friend too! So thankful for technology and a God who uses it for His purposes! I LOVE your one word!

  2. Heidi Viars Says:

    thanks so much for this marvelous thought!!! What a great idea … no better day than today to sit down with the family to make this wonderful “resolution” 🙂 Can’t wait to see what God will do with this…!

  3. Love this idea. Since I don’t have family to consult, my own would be, New Year, New Appreciation. My motto would probably be, “Stay conscious.” The one word would have to be Love. And my life verse(s), as always, is Galatians 5:22-23 – “And the fruit of the Spirit is love: joy, peace, patience, kindness, generosity, gentleness, faithfulness and self-control. Against these things there is no law.” Happy New Year, dear sister.

  4. LOVED THIS. I actually am using this on my blog as well. I hope you don’t mind. 😉 You can read to see my answers to your challenge. Good stuff!!!


Leave a Reply

