Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~Stay. Focused.~ January 9, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — Valerie Rutledge @ 9:11 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

stay focusedHave you ever been so overwhelmed by the number of decisions in your life that you do one of two things:

  1. Freak out and do nothing.
  2. Start out in one direction only to get frustrated and head the opposite way.

I’ll give you a perfect, day-to-day life example.  Cleaning house.  Exciting.

I will typically start out cleaning our living room because it sees the most “action”.  I gather up a handful of toys and tote them down the stairs and start to put them away when I notice dirty clothes at the foot of Emma’s bed.  I grab the heap and head to the laundry room where I see the basket is about to overflow so I start a load of wash.  As I walk out the door, the vacuum cleaner catches my eye and I remember the mess of crumbs in the boys room so I drag it up the stairs and get to work.  What is Autumn’s i-pod doing in her brother’s room?  Distracted, I stop midstream and return it to it’s rightful place.  Guess who didn’t make their bed this morning?  I set the i-pod aside and start straightening blankets when I see the multiple dirty glasses on her shelf.  Bed half made, I head to the kitchen.  I can’t stand the sight of dishes setting in the sink so rather than go back to the previous task, I start washing.

Before I know it, I have spent half the day flitting from one room to another, accomplishing basically nothing.  Lack of focus, no direction, nothing to show for my time.  Not very productive, is it?

Now think of this same concept as it applies to life in general.  You start out with a goal, full of gusto and ready to accomplish greatness.  Then as you begin your journey, something grabs your attention and distracts you from the task at hand.  Do you panic and quit because surely if this was your purpose you wouldn’t be so easily swayed, right?  Maybe you, like me, start with one thing and realize that another requires your attention and move on to number 2 before completing number 1.

Might I suggest that this is not how the Lord wants us to live?  Confusion & frustration will almost always cause us to quit, and the Lord didn’t make us quitters.

Scripture tells us-

To stay focused:

Look straight ahead, and fix your eyes on what lies before you. -Proverbs 4:25

Not to give-up:

And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us….Think of all the hostility he endured from sinful people; then you won’t become weary and give up.- Hebrews 12:1 & 3

And finish strong:

But you should keep a clear mind in every situation. Don’t be afraid of suffering for the Lord. Work at telling others the Good News, and fully carry out the ministry God has given you.- 2 Timothy 4:5

Set your mind on what God wants for your life and make that your first priority in everything you do.  Don’t allow yourself to become distracted by the numerous things around you that are fighting for your attention.  Let the Lord direct your steps and trust in His will, then you will find success in your life as opposed to wasting precious time spinning your wheels and going nowhere.

 

2 Responses to “~Stay. Focused.~”

  1. SQUIRREL! Yep, I know exactly what you mean. Thankfully, He has patience enough to clear our minds and guide us back to where we belong, back to the task He has given us. “For God is not a God of confusion but of peace.” (1 Corinthians 14:33)


Leave a Reply

