Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~Miraculous Blessing~ January 10, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — Valerie Rutledge @ 7:58 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Our little family has had it’s share of highs and lows over the last few years.

When I was pregnant with Emma, we were told she exhibited signs of downs syndrome.

We watched helplessly as Peyton suffered with excruciating headaches.

We’ve fought the legal system to protect two of our children from a dangerous environment.

We have sat and looked at our bills only to realize the money wasn’t there.

And in all these struggles, one thing has proven true each and every time.  The moment that we decided to release our worries and cast all of our cares onto the Lord’s capable shoulders, He showed up.  I’m not talking about a little pat on the back.  I mean the kind of move of God that blew our minds and left us completely awestruck at His love for us.

With Emma, we prayed and decided to ignore the doctors urging and forgo the extensive testing.  Miraculously, the elevated numbers dropped and I delivered a healthy baby girl with ease.

Some of you know how Peyton’s story turned out.  After months of fretting and crying to God, he was healed in an instant…and I do mean an instant.  One day he was sick, the next day it was all over.

We are still in the throws of a fight over two of our children, but we know that the victory has already been given to us as the battle belongs to the Lord.

As for our financial worries, I can’t tell you how many times God has showed up in the craziest of ways.  We have been granted unmerited favor with debtors, we’ve received gifts of items we desperately needed but couldn’t possibly afford-like a refrigerator, and we’ve been showered with blessings from the most random of places just when we needed them most.

Last night was no exception.  I won’t share all the details, but I had to give God a shout out.

We had an unexpected visitor show up on our doorstep.  I was clueless to what was going on until it was all over because I was downstairs putting 2 rambunctious girls to bed.  I came up the stairs to find my husband with a look of shock on his face.  He could hardly put into words what had just taken place.  The Lord sent us a miracle through someone that we could have never anticipated.  This person handed something to my husband and said that the Lord laid it on their heart to give it to us and wouldn’t let them alone about it until they did!

There are no words to explain to you just how awestruck we all were in this house last night, we still are.  We know the Lord loves us, He’s proven it time and time again, but it still amazes me to see Him work in such a tangible way.

The moral of this story is to completely lean into God and trust that He will always give you just what you need at the very moment you need it.  Looking back over our story, how could we not trust him?!

To our guardian angel who was obedient to the Lord- I pray that you will be doubly blessed for the love and generosity that you extended to our family.

“Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.” (Luke 6:38)

give

 

8 Responses to “~Miraculous Blessing~”

  1. blmaluso Says:

    Thank you for sharing such amazing and humbling stories of faith, trust and God’s miracles! It is so exciting that we are all vessels for the Lord to work through. We just need to keep our ears, eyes and hearts open to His enlightenment and guidance, so we can be there for eachother. May God continue to bless you and your family….and His servants that showed up at your house last night:-)

    • Yes and amen! You know I think if we don’t take the time to document, share and reflect on His blessings, we will quickly forget them.
      My heart is overflowing with gratitude for those who’ve extended their hands towards my family. We are truly blessed.

  2. I know of this joy, Valerie! Not sure if you’ve had a chance to read Our Story on my blog {we are new bloggin’ friends after all 😉 and I know what keeping up with reading us like! } – but we have a similar story of restoration. Once a month after our bankruptcy was final we had church friend’s give us a considerable amount … Which covered our rent shortage and more. We were overwhelmed. They didn’t know the great need. They didn’t know the full circumstances. But God did.

    • Oh my goodness…I cannot wait to read the “our story” section of your blog now! I’ll be sure to make time for that this weekend. It does wonders for my faith when I can see how God has moved in others lives as well…even if I don’t know them personally!

      • Me too! I love reading what I call Glory Stories. I’ve got my story and my husband’s story on the Our Story page. Will be adding more soon to tell if the restoration we’ve experienced. Thanks for sharing in the Glory Story! Bless you.

  3. Jennifer Says:

    How beautiful to count the blessings. So glad he has provided for you time and again. He is goooood!


Leave a Reply

