Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~Fast or Diet?~ January 16, 2014

prayer and fasting“I haven’t lost a pound since I started this fast 2 weeks ago!  My husband has dropped the weight, but not me.  So I quit.”

**little disclaimer- to my church family who is currently fasting, this was not a comment from someone in our congregation, relax**

Color me dumbfounded.

The last time I checked, fasting was not the latest weight loss craze but a means of connecting with God.

The more I thought on this comment, the more I realized that surely this is not the only person to ever use fasting as a way to reach their goal weight.  And I guess when you think about it, some diet plans do call for you to abstain from certain foods, such as sweets or high calorie beverages.  But that’s not the kind of fasting we’re talking about here.

In the simplest explanation I can think of, biblical fasting means to give something up for a set period of time and replace it with bible study and prayer.  I’ll give a couple of examples.

You decide to fast breakfast for 2 weeks.  During those 2 weeks, you would dedicate “breakfast time” to reading your Bible, talking to God or simply being still in His presence.

Maybe you opt to shut off your electronics for a week.  Rather than tune in to your fav show and tune out what’s happening around you, you decide to focus in on God and seek His face.

If I am to be totally honest, fasting is still somewhat new to me too.  I wasn’t raised exercising this particular discipline so I am learning as I go…key is, I am willing to learn.  Based on the comment stated above, I wanted to share with others who may have a desire to fast but are unsure how to proceed or maybe don’t understand the concept behind it.

I have attached two articles that our Pastor has shared with us that I feel are very informative on the ins and outs of Biblical fasting.   Again, I don’t claim to have all the answers, but if you have questions, I’m willing to help you dig through the Word to find them!  Blessings to all.

http://www.cru.org/training-and-growth/devotional-life/7-steps-to-fasting/index.htm

http://www.cru.org/training-and-growth/devotional-life/personal-guide-to-fasting/index.htm

“And when you fast, don’t make it obvious, as the hypocrites do, for they try to look miserable and disheveled so people will admire them for their fasting. I tell you the truth, that is the only reward they will ever get.”

(Matthew 6:16 NLT)

 

4 Responses to “~Fast or Diet?~”

  1. bwcarey Says:

    great wisdom, when we empty the head or put off a pleasure or habit, we create room for wisdom, blessings to you too

  2. Jennifer Says:

    Truth. We can experience the nearness of God in a fast, and it can be wonderful!


Leave a Reply

