Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~Which side of the bed did you get up on?~ January 23, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — Valerie Rutledge @ 8:26 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Have you ever given any thought as to how you start your morning impacts the rest of your day?

This morning my youngest woke up crying.  Great.  I immediately started dreading the day because nine times out of ten, tears first thing in the morning mean a long, whiny, fit-filled day lies ahead.  However, my hubs hadn’t left for work yet so he brought her in to lay in bed with me and flipped on the cartoons.  After a few minutes, she was content watching Micky Mouse and snuggling with momma.  When it was time to rise and shine, she was as pleasant as can be.  All smiles, no tears, as we fixed breakfast and prepared for the day.

Having some time to reflect, my mind drifted to a different scene.  This one involves me and how I begin my days.  Some mornings I wake up mad at the world.  I can’t really explain why, maybe I had bad dreams or maybe it’s because I ate that brownie right before bed, could be anything really.  The point is, I am angry…at nothing…ready to tear out of bed and be the best mean girl I can be.  Picture the worst mother on earth, slamming doors, flinging lunchboxes and barking orders at her sleepy-eyed babes.  How bout that for a visual?

But, and you know there is always a but, when I wake up like that, I have learned how to ward off the hateful beast.  I thank Jesus.  I lay in my bed under my awesome blankie and talk to God.  I thank him for another day on this earth with my loved ones.  I thank him for our health.  I thank him for his provision.  And on and on I go until I can safely get out of bed with a smile on my face instead of the vicious scowl that was there when I first woke.

It’s not always easy to give thanks first thing in the morning, especially if you’ve had a rough night with little to no sleep.  Been there a time or two.  But, regardless to how bad your night was, there is always something to be thankful for.  Always.

One of my favorite songs comes to mind, and maybe it will help you too.  There is a line that comes directly from Scripture that reminds me of the hope we have each and every day:  There might be pain in the night, but joy comes in the morning.

If you woke up with your mad face on, it’s not too late to turn your day around.  Sit and meditate on all that you have to be thankful for.  If you can’t think of something right off, trust me, it’s there just beneath the surface waiting for you to take notice.

 

One Response to “~Which side of the bed did you get up on?~”

  1. I always appreciate your transparency, sister! I’m reminded that there are many others going through the same things I’m going through. Your words could have come from my own journal. God bless!


Leave a Reply

