Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~Parents Need to PARENT~ March 10, 2014

I have determined that middle school is where sweet little kids turn into 3-headed dragons.  The chatter that has been circulating among parents and what little I can drag out of my own children would even make unsavory characters blush.  These kids are 11-14 years old and getting away with things that I didn’t even think about until college!

  •  Foul language is considered part of normal conversation.
  • “Twerking,” is the new craze at the dances…thank you, Miley Cyrus for your contribution to society.
  • CHILDREN are making out during school and some have already engaged in sexual activities.

Are you kidding me?!

So what’s a freaked out momma supposed to do when her kids have no other option than public school?!  How can I ensure that my kids can be stuck in the middle of these atrocious environments and come out unscathed & still living for Jesus?

Proverbs 28 is riddled with verses that we parents can pour into and pray over our children.

When your child is surrounded by a group doing all kinds of wrong and is unsure what to do:

“The wicked run away when no one is chasing them, but the godly are as bold as lions.” (vs 1)

During school, when they see everybody getting by with doing whatever they want as opposed to what they should be doing:

“Blessed are those who fear to do wrong, but the stubborn are headed for serious trouble.” (vs 14)

“The blameless will be rescued from harm, but the crooked will be suddenly destroyed.” (vs 18)

If you have little disciples like we do, anxious to share the Word of God but fearful of rejection, who may be tempted to join the masses:

“Those who lead good people along an evil path will fall into their own trap, but the honest will inherit good things.” (vs 10)

What happens when their closest friends turn from their church-upbringin’ roots and decide to embrace the false teaching that is attacking them from every direction:

“Young people who obey the law are wise; those with wild friends bring shame to their parents.” (vs 7)

“It makes good sense to obey the Law of God, but you disgrace your parents if you make friends with worthless nobodies.” (same verse, CEV translation)

I am so utterly disappointed in the job that parents are doing these days.  They are succumbing to the pressures of this world by allowing their children to set the standards and the rules instead of demanding a certain level of respect and personal integrity.  These children that are acting out in public are belittling themselves.  God created us all to be spectacular and by behaving with so little self-respect and absolutely no dignity they are falling well below their potential for greatness.

I’m sorry about the soap box, I am just horrified at the downward spiral that are young people are falling into.  We can only expect so much from their educators and Sunday school teachers, at some point, Mom & Dad need to step it up a notch.  For those of you who may be living inside a bubble, oblivious to the hell your kids are raising when they walk out your door, I pray that the Lord would thump you on the head and open your eyes!  I can only pray that we are doing a decent enough job with ours because I know they are just as susceptible to temptation as the next kid and boy have my kids messed up at times.  So I am seeking the Lord on my behalf too.  I want my kids to be part of the solution, not part of the problem.  Mom & Dad, Nana & Grandad…it is time to hit your knees to protect your babies.steering

That is all.

 

14 Responses to “~Parents Need to PARENT~”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    This is a great post! Even as a mom who schools my kids, I still encounter some of the challenges. Thankfully, we talk a lot at home. Wish other parents could, or would.

    • If you read the other comments, you’ll see that Heather did home school as well. It scares me a little but I’m really getting tired of hearing nothing but negativity from children about their public school experience. I should add that my elementary child LOVES her school and so do I, it’s my preteens that are struggling. So I’m trying to discern how serious of a problem it is or if it’s exaggerated because of the sensitivity that comes with this age.

      • I LOVED homeschooling, ladies! 🙂 But it was not always without challenges. However I never run from a challenge. 😉 lol

        I would just like to add here that (while I know there may be some exceptions to this) I have found that when a child (or adult for that matter) might seem sensitive to these things it is usually because their spirit is reacting to God’s Holy Spirit. I started thanking God that my daughter noticed and was very concerned about these things at a very young age. I saw it as a gift. And I am thankful I did.

        Now that may or may not be applied to someone who has a sensitivity issue to every little thing that maybe shouldn’t bother, but it certainly is worth a soul listen.

      • I agree, Heather, my child is definitely responding to the Holy Spirit. I am thankful that she has also received that gift. My prayer is that God would help me show her how to handle the responsibility that comes with that gift. She gets overcome with emotion when someone reaches out to her for help…she is scared to death she is going to give bad counsel. Love her heart, she is just precious!

      • She sounds JUST like my daughter then. Em has always been so heart-concerned she would just not even say the right things – always careful in choosing words … she always wanted people to see God in her life, her words, her actions. Public school would have wrecked that I think.

      • Jennifer Says:

        Mmmmm. So very hard. Our decision wasn’t made lightly. Similar thoughts, though.

  2. momocular Says:

    What a huge, often scary issue! Thanks for this thoughtful post. Looking forward to reading more!

    • Yes it is….adds much for worry to the already protective mommas of the world 😉 I’ll be checking out your blog as well, and thanks for the follow 🙂 Be blessed today!

  3. You. Go. Momma!!!
    This is something I have been saying/writing about for years. Because it saddens me and perturbs me. The reason we have adults running around life in a day-in day-out “whatever” half-hearted attitude about God is because parents started failing to do as they should about the same time as God was predominately removed from the school system. Double whammy!
    I am sooooo glad we sacrificed to homeschool. Hey, you don’t have to homeschool inside certain hours. Could you homeschool at night? I’m happy to help you out with direction to go if you want to homeschool but have questions. It’s fabulous!

    • Heather, I was up half the night stressing over sending my babes back into the lion’s den today. I am worried about 2 things with homeschooling: 1-my kids inability to be involved in team sports 2-this one is the main one, my own insecurities about my ability to lead them. I don’t want their education to suffer at my hands. I really am struggling with this. I don’t want to shelter my kids from reality, because eventually they have to function with the rest of the world but one of my kids especially is having a hard time shutting out the crap that’s going on around them. Sensitive hearts….praying for serious direction in this area.

      • You have read my daughter’s writings. Multiply what you gleaned from that by a million…. That’s really how much passion and love and kindness she has for people. All that came from God and that He wished through me DESPITE my shortcomings and faults (a plenty). But it’s because I determined strongly that things would change with my child. He redeemed me and developer her.
        Both /ALL/ of your concerns are handled beautifully by homeschoolers everywhere. Where this a will, there is a way. And you got it girl.
        I will private message you on FB. I’m happy to go into detail on these two main concerns. 🙂

      • *worked through me (not wished … Cell phone autocorrect… Bane or boon?! Lol)

  4. ERIN Says:

    HEY IF YOU NEED ANY HELP OR NEED TO TALK ABOUT HOMESCHOOLING, ME AND MY SISTER HOMESCHOOL. I STARTED HOMESCHOOLING AND GOD WAS PULLING ME TO do it. I DON’T REGRET IT. ITS THE BEST THING I HAVE DONE. ENJOY READING YOUR BLOG. BLESSINGS ERIN


Leave a Reply

