Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~Prayer From Paul~ March 19, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — Valerie Rutledge @ 9:31 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Some days, I question why God has placed any trust in my ability to be a mommy.  I have a very active toddler, a 6 year old diva, two pre-teens trying to find their way and one teenager who knows it all…sounds like the making of a good joke, doesn’t it?!  The problem with this vast range of ages is that every day presents a new parenting challenge.  Somehow, I am supposed to be able to transition from overseeing timeouts, to monitoring social media, to talking about sex, to navigating peer pressure and back to time out corner to release my prisoner.

I’m not gonna lie, it gets incredibly overwhelming.  How in the world is it possible for my husband and I to do this kid-rearing thing without ruining them or going bonkers in the process?!

One word, prayer.

It is very easy for me to get wrapped up in the moment and let my mean momma come out when my kids disappoint me.  I want to throw out not-so-helpful words rather than taking the time to allow God to give me the words that I should speak.

I want to be effective with the things I do and say to my kids.  The truth is, most kids only pay attention for a brief time, so if you are rambling on, they tuned you out after about the first 5 minutes.  In order to make that tiny little window of opportunity count, we should be giving careful attention to how we choose to deliver a valuable life lesson.  To ensure that we are giving our absolute best attempt at this parenting thing, we need to be in prayer for ourselves and for our children.

While I pray that God would help me to control my fleshly side that sometimes wants to trade in my precious babes for billy goats, years ago I determined that this would be my prayer for my kids:

“I pray that your love will overflow more and more, and that you will keep on growing in knowledge and understanding.  For I want you to understand what really matters, so that you may live pure and blameless lives until the day of Christ’s return.  May you always be filled with the fruit of your salvation-the righteous character produced in your life by Jesus Christ-for this will bring much glory and praise to God.” (Philippians 1:9-11 NLT)

My desire is that we all would continue to move forward in our faith.  It is definitely a process of growing and maturing together, learning from one another how to be Jesus guys & gals and conducting ourselves in a manner worthy of the Gospel while living in a world that is going to hell in a hand basket.  To achieve this goal, we must remain in the Word and continually seek guidance as opposed to going at it in our own stubborn way.  andystanley

 

4 Responses to “~Prayer From Paul~”

  1. Your heart is displayed beautifully here, Valerie. ❤ Your prayers will be answered.

    I remember these very things to be true in my life when my daughter was young. I was chatting with a trusted sister in Christ, who felt the exact same way. I'll never forget her profound prayer… "God, protect my children from me."
    I prayed it ever since.

    That's humility. He honors humility. You have humility.
    ~
    Heather

  2. Julia Tomiak Says:

    I love this Valerie! It reminds me of our run ‘n rant last week. (Very therapeutic). The best thing we can do when we feel out of control is pray, and I love this verse you selected. Do you get P31 email devotions? Yesterday there were some great verses to pray over our boys.

    • We need more of those kind of runs!! I do get P31 devotions too and loved the recent ones on praying for your sons and then for your daughters, impeccable timing. There are very few mommas that I confide in when it comes to my kiddos, I am grateful that you are one of them!


Leave a Reply

