Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~Too Busy to Give Thanks~ April 8, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — Valerie Rutledge @ 1:38 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
busy

Don’t be “this” girl

Today I have been met with the hard reality of an overbooked schedule.  And I am exhausted.  I won’t bore you with the details of all that’s being juggled, just know that I am not exaggerating when I say I am overwhelmed.

But worse than being worn out and frustrated at my lack of time, I feel horribly guilty.  Our women’s group has started Ann Voskamp’s “One Thousand Gifts.”  While we are about two weeks in, I have barely managed to read the first chapter much less start my list of gifts.  How in the world have I allowed myself to get so busy that I don’t even have time to write one thing that I am thankful for?!

Our house is being shown this afternoon so I have been cleaning like a lunatic & washing everyone’s bedding.  Why?  I don’t know, just in case the potential buyers want to check things out Goldilocks style and try out each bed.  I’d hate to think the house didn’t sell because of drool stains on the pillowcases.  My husband just ran by and noticed the extreme fatigue in my face.  Once again, he delivered some profound truth:

“Honey, we all appreciate a clean home but there is no reason to wear yourself out.”

How bout that?  Here I’ve been running myself in circles trying to get it all done meanwhile neglecting something as precious as naming my blessings and it’s all of my own doing.  No one has placed these crazy expectations on me, I do it all by myself.

Sometimes I wonder if I even read my own blog.  See the following:

https://peacefulpromises.wordpress.com/2014/03/26/someone-else/

https://peacefulpromises.wordpress.com/2013/04/03/it-is-ok-to-say-no/

https://peacefulpromises.wordpress.com/2013/04/25/expectations/

Clearly, I have allowed my “to do” list to take priority over my “need to” list.  So what if there’s a little dog hair on the couch or the laundry basket isn’t completely empty when company comes calling?  I believe it’s time to start that list of things for which I am thankful:

1.  A husband who reminds me that I am loved for who I am, not what I do.

“It’s useless to rise early and go to bed late,
    and work your worried fingers to the bone.
Don’t you know he enjoys
    giving rest to those he loves?”

(Psalm 127:2 The Message)

 

6 Responses to “~Too Busy to Give Thanks~”

  1. Valerie, we all need that reminder. You have a keeper of a husband there. And we certainly have a keeper of a God. We just need to allow Him to minister to us.

  2. Breathe, girl, breathe. 🙂
    Breathe Him in.
    {{Hugs}} ~ bunches of ’em!

  3. Dee Says:

    Valerie, maybe you just need to pencil some “YOU” time in so you can look things over. I remember how busy it got when I worked,a husband who worked out of town, and two sons playing sports and the list goes on. I know above all that you are a woman of God and it shows every time I see you!! I will pray for you about this to help out!! Luv ya bunches, Dee


Leave a Reply

