Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~Don’t Confuse Silence with Absence~ April 10, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — Valerie Rutledge @ 9:47 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

“Can anybody hear me?
The silence is deafening
Why do You feel so far away?”

I heard these lyrics this morning after I dropped the kiddos off at school and it pulled at my heart.  I am not at this place in my life right now, but I know some of you are.

You pray and you cry out and it feels like all you get in return is silence.  It seems as though your prayers are bouncing off the ceiling as they remain unanswered.  Surely God has removed His hand from your life as is evident by your current circumstances.  Everything is going to hell in a hand basket.  Your feet aren’t firmly planted on the solid rock but sliding continuously down the mudslide that has become your existence.

People, I have been there and done that and I didn’t just buy the t-shirt, I got the sweatpants, hat & sunglasses to match!

I have literally screamed at God, “Why aren’t you answering me?!?!  What have I done that you would turn your face from me?!”  You know what He said…nothing.  Radio silence.

Take a look at the next verse of the Meredith Andrews song that caught my attention on this beautiful day:

“When I know You’re here with me
But I just need the faith to see
Nothing can separate me from Your love
From Your love.”

There it is, that promise that we hear over and over again, not one thing can cause God to stop loving us.  Even in the moments when we are certain He has totally abandoned us, He is right there in the valley holding our hands and leading us through.

This song is hands down my favorite reminder of how strong God’s love for us truly is.  Please listen and be blessed by the ministry of Jeremi & Amy Richardson.  (http://www.jeremiandamyrichardson.com/)

For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”  (Romans 8:38-39 NIV)

 

2 Responses to “~Don’t Confuse Silence with Absence~”

  1. Jess Says:

    Thank you thank you! Needed that so very much!


Leave a Reply

