Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~Not My Words~ May 1, 2014

“I use words as an expression…my words point to the Word….THE WORD has a name…Jesus Christ.”

Several times since beginning this writing thing, I have had people praise my posts.  There have been those who have reached out for counsel after feeling convicted from something I said.  I have received private messages with words like, “This post was for me.  I needed to hear this today, more than you know.”  Words of encouragement, prayers for blessing & pats on the back have not been lacking.

I don’t say these things to brag, quite the contrary.  I tell you this to give God every bit of the glory.  You see, I rarely have a moment when I sit down to write where the words that pour out are mine.  I do share life experiences, funny child-rearing stories and my testimony, one little piece at a time.  But what is reaching people, changing lives and tugging on heartstrings, has absolutely nothing to do with me.  It is Jesus.  His words, His promises, His grace & forgiveness, His love, His ever present help & strength.

When I write or talk about Jesus, my desire and hope is that I will be hidden and that He alone will be seen, heard and magnified.  Because I know that my words are weak and my mind is feeble, I long for the Holy Spirit to takeover at every ordained opportunity.

I am thankful that the Lord chooses to use me in this, my ministry.  I am also thankful for my brothers & sisters in Christ who have come alongside me and encouraged me in this gift.  And yes, that is how I view this blog, as my gift from the Lord to be used to point people to Him.  I am grateful to fellow Christian bloggers whose words have prodded me, nurtured me, brought me peace and left me in complete awe of what a beautiful Savior we live and breathe for.  I just wanted to take today to say thanks.

This song has quickly become one of my favorites.  This particular version was quite lengthy and I wasn’t sure why until midway through, a gentleman stepped up to the mic and started reading.  The quote above is what caught my attention and prompted this post.  Listen.  Let the song & his words settle deep into your soul.  Be blessed today knowing that “His perfect love could not be overcome.”

 

5 Responses to “~Not My Words~”

  1. blmaluso Says:

    So true! We are called to touch eachother’s lives and provide insight, and compassion while sharing the love of Jesus. His words and spirit flow through us. Thank you for being an open vessel and touching our hearts! Bernadette

    • Same to you, Bernadette. I still find it overwhelming how we are able to connect so deeply with one another through the power of the written word. It is amazing and inspiring. Hugs to you!

  2. Julia Tomiak Says:

    No, thank you! I love words 😉 and am impressed with how well you use them – with guidance from the Holy Spirit – to give us all encouragement and challenges. Keep up the great work- when you can.

  3. It is an amazing experience to look back and know your fingers have touched the keyboard but you have not written a single word. We are His vessels, jars of clay that He has filled with love and grace, living water that is poured out to fill others with encouragement and light. Bless you for every word.


Leave a Reply

