Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~What I Learned From Watching “Frozen”…Repeatedly~ May 6, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — Valerie Rutledge @ 9:22 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

“Let it go, let it go!!!”

These words ring out in my house on a daily basis, from the mouths of my babes or the television speakers.  The ladies of the house are hooked on Disney’s latest hit, “Frozen,” self included.  What’s not to love about a musical that features a dysfunctional family?!  Combine that with the deceptively charming villain, a simple yet wise talking snowman, a reindeer that reminds us all of our favorite pet & the love interest who struggles to communicate his feelings, (something most ladies can relate to), and you’ve got yourself a hit!  Not to mention the wildly successful single from the movie soundtrack…seriously, these Disney people are on to something.

Around the 27th time of viewing this movie, something Queen Elsa belted out caught my attention:

It’s funny how some distance
Makes everything seem small
And the fears that once controlled me
Can’t get to me at all

It’s time to see what I can do
To test the limits and break through
No right, no wrong, no rules for me
I’m free

It was one of those “aha” moments…like, how have I heard this song a bazillion times and not picked up on the depth of this verse?!

How many of you feel stuck?  Who can say that your current circumstances have you feeling confined, unable to move forward…paralyzed by fear?  Perhaps you are so consumed by thoughts of failure that you remain at their mercy, controlled by feelings and not by faith.  So many of us sense a pull to do something great but we place limitations on ourselves that have us convinced we can’t possibly find success through that avenue.

Fear can manifest itself in numerous ways but I have found the hardest to overcome for me personally is insecurity.  I oftentimes struggle to believe that I have what it takes to do anything meaningful.  I don’t like to admit this, but I think someone else needs to hear it.  The truth of the matter is, those of us who have accepted Christ as our savior have the most powerful resource available by way of the Holy Spirit.  We don’t have to rely on our own abilities but simply trust that if God planted a desire in our hearts, He will equip us with what is necessary to see it come to fruition.

Self-doubt, past mistakes, worldly rejection…all of these things are powerless against the plan of God.  We are not meant to be prisoners of our own minds or criticisms of our peers.  So let me pose this simple question, “What would you do if fear was taken out of the equation?”  Fill in the blank from this statement:  I will not let ____________ consume me.  I will fulfill my purpose.

Now, let it go.  Lay down all those self-deprecating thoughts and accept the gifts and talents God has given you and put them to use!  You are more.fear is not master

(For inquiring minds…yes, “Frozen” is currently being watched in the background.)

 

9 Responses to “~What I Learned From Watching “Frozen”…Repeatedly~”

  1. mudpilewood Says:

    As I write this I am dithering over self publishing (adult books not children’s – the children’s are being re edited and illustrated at the moment) and the reason why I speculate and worry is…fear. So your post meant a lot to me. Thanks for posting and pushing me to continue on. (Maria)

    • I can understand where fear would be an issue with publishing, I know I would be a bit fearful myself if I was taking that step! I’ll give you a quote our Pastor has shared numerous times “FEAR is False Evidence Appearing Real” Helps to think that through any time it tries to creep in! Good luck on your publishing!! ❤

  2. Oh my! Thank you for posting this. I’m knee-deep in a place where I can let the opinions of my peers have me shaking in my boots or move forward with boldness and follow Holy Spirit. This post was soooo encouraging! Thank you for sharing! Also, my church nursery girls have been LOVING Frozen, by the way. Lol! That movie has honestly been speaking to me on a spiritual level. 🙂

    Britt ❤

    • Thank you for sharing, Britt! God is faithful to give us just what we need to fulfill the calling & purpose he has given us. All we need to do is trust in his ability and not our own! You got this 🙂
      Val

  3. I’m glad I read your post. I’ve not enjoyed what seems to be the Frozen theme song, “Let it Go” because of the line about “no right, no wrong, no rules for me” … I just wanted to gag every time I heard the lyrics. Now I can at least see it from a different perspective, and one that I can very much relate to as well. Blessings!

    • Thanks, Paige, and I struggled with that line at first too. What you mean, no rules?! I like to think of it as we don’t live by the rules of this world but by the grace and knowledge of Jesus Christ. That, to me, is quite liberating! Blessings to you as well 🙂

  4. sparrowkindalove Says:

    Wow, this is really what i needed today! Thank you so much for sharing…and i think i’ll go home and watch Frozen AGAIN myself 🙂


Leave a Reply

