Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~Soul Pep Talk~ May 20, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — Valerie Rutledge @ 9:53 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Does anyone besides me pay particular attention to people’s faces as you cross paths?  Whether it be driving past on the roads or brushing by in the grocery store, I am always drawn to people’s expressions…more specifically, their eyes.

It is quite true that the eyes are the window to one’s soul.  Someone may plaster on the most convincing smile but if you look beyond the pearly whites, you see something else entirely. I know personally that when I am attempting to “hide” my emotions, I won’t make eye contact for too long for fear that someone will see the truth.  Allowing people to see what’s behind that smile would mean having to deal with the junk that you are trying desperately to repress.

I often pass people in close proximity in our town because the roads are narrow and the traffic moves relatively slow.  This morning, as I neared an intersection, a lady coming from the opposite direction caught my attention.  I didn’t know her, didn’t recall seeing her before, but her face gripped my heart.  You could see the anguish in her expression.  I locked eyes with her as we passed and tossed her a smile.  She made a halfhearted effort to smile back but the truth was still in her eyes.  Immediately the words of Psalm 42 came to mind, “Why, my soul, are you downcast?  Why so disturbed within me?”  This lady was hurting.  It is highly unlikely that I will ever know what was causing such distress in her life but how many times have I seen a similar look in the eyes of someone I can reach and chose to look the other way?  How many times have I been the one attempting to hide behind a phony grin?

The next verse from Psalm 42 speaks directly to the soul, “Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise Him, my savior and my God.”  How I wish I could have conveyed that message to the unknown woman at the intersection of 4th & Monroe.  But since I cannot, let me speak to your soul & mine.

Regardless of what is causing the sadness in your eyes, we have a hope that surpasses all understanding.  Let your soul find rest in the peace that comes from knowing that the God of angel armies is always working towards your best interest.  He will make a way in the wilderness.  He will provide when the resources have run dry.  He will bring clarity when your mind has you frustrated & confused.  He will take the shattered pieces of your heart and make it whole again.  He longs to see your soul restored and the glimmer return to your eyes, that’s how deep His love for you runs.

Be kind to yourself today and if the opportunity presents itself, share a soul pep talk with someone who may need it even more than you or they may realize.4037a947ef493dca6300b14eb9eb0fe7

 

5 Responses to “~Soul Pep Talk~”

  1. In Christ only is there hope. Without hope we would be a very miserable people. Wouldn’t it be great if we could share with every passer-by? Great post!!

  2. "light and salt" Says:

    Absolutely beautiful! I used to have a job which required the ability to “read people” by the look in their eyes, their speech tones and inflections, and body language. With some, one or the other is easier to do. But those eyes can be very telling indeed!

    Thanks for sharing this, Valerie. Have a fabulous day and take the advice of Psalm 42 to your own heart as well!

    Steve 🙂


Leave a Reply

