Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~Gracious Receiving~ May 28, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — Valerie Rutledge @ 11:27 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

As a mom of many, I have often times received what the world might consider lackluster gifts.  My children have given me pictures with one or two scribbles across the page, ABC gum (already been chewed for those who may not know) & “flowers” that the untrained eye might refer to as weeds.

Just the other day, Bella handed me the ugliest leaf in the entire yard.  The way she beamed at me when she said “for you Mommy” you would have thought it was the most lavish bouquet of flowers ever known to man.  On a bad day, I might have brushed her off and continued scrolling through Facebook to see what the outside world was up to.  But this day I was feeling blissfully content in my one on one time with my youngest so I poured on the kisses and thank yous for this strange but sweet gift.

I could tell by the triumphant look on her face that she was quite pleased with herself & her obvious knack for gift giving.

Then I saw this cute little picture today and it served as a gut check.

7082cfb8825cac94bae35796c293202e

How many times have I set aside that 15th half colored, torn in two picture of Strawberry Shortcake because it started to feel redundant making a big production over each and every one?  There have been many seemingly random gifts from little ones to me but what this simple quote reminded me is that even though it may seem like junk to us, to the precious gift giver, it may be the most extravagant treasure they’ve ever laid eyes on.

When anyone gives you a gift, whether it be tangible or maybe a simple spoken word, let your gratitude for their thoughtfulness shine.  As this sweet photo declares, when someone thinks enough of you to give it means at that moment, you are the most important person on the planet to them.  How about we make them feel the same in return?

“Since everything God created is good, we should not reject any of it but receive it with thanks.” (1 Timothy 4:4 NLT)

 

3 Responses to “~Gracious Receiving~”

  1. This is ver true, and thought-provoking. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

  2. "light and salt" Says:

    A post filled with God’s wisdom and love! Great reminder for us all…

    Steve Pejay


Leave a Reply

