Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~Deep Cleaning~ June 3, 2014

820e0f4dfdfbd41f120fbff6652c23e4I am one of those peculiar people who thoroughly enjoys cleaning.  I realize this makes me a bit of a freak, but it’s the way God made me so I’ve come to accept my weirdness as should you.

There’s just something about taking a dirty mess and using my two hands to make it shine. Don’t even get me started on the awesomeness that is carpet shampooing.  It’s like an adrenaline rush!  First the water being sucked in is filthy & cloudy but as I continue to go over the same spot, the water becomes clean & clear.  These are the things that bring me joy.

Last night, we fixed breakfast for dinner which creates a mess of epic proportions.  Three different types of grease mingled together on our black stovetop.  Not our wisest decorating decision as it shows everything, including the egg goo that morphs into super glue when it comes in contact with a hot surface.  Let the scrubbing commence!  As I began to spray & wipe, I watched as layer by layer, my mess dissolved.  I started to feel a sense of accomplishment when it dawned on me that this must be how the Lord feels.

He sees us where we are at, a hot mess, and begins to work on us.  He cleanses our rough places over and over again until the blemish is removed.  Just as the dirty water in a shampooer eventually turns clean with enough repetition, so it is when we allow God to continually clean up the junk in our lives.  Or like the sticky grease on my stove, God removes our sin and stumbling blocks one grimy layer at a time.  His is a cleansing that goes deep below the surface, altering our insides to show transformation on the outside.  All we need to do is invite Him in and allow Him to do the tough stuff.  It’s a pretty good deal when you think about it.  God does the work yet we reap the benefits while He sits on His throne in Heaven pleased by the work of His hands.

“If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” (1 John 1:9 ESV)

 

5 Responses to “~Deep Cleaning~”

  1. Great post. He is our Cleanser!!!😀

  2. So true! Thanks! I happen to enjoy cleaning a little, especially once I start, as I seem to “get in the grove”. Plus, I live with a couple of cleaning/organizing team, my sister and my mom. 😉

  3. Rebecca Says:

    I like cleaning too! And I get stressed out when I’m prevented from cleaning. You’re not alone.


Leave a Reply

