Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~Schedule Timeout~ June 9, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — Valerie Rutledge @ 9:52 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4bb96d984e48796a3b689df7f22a66f6Some of my faithful readers may have noticed that my posts over the last couple of weeks have been a bit sporadic.  Thanks to the several end of school year activities, I had little time to think much less put those thoughts out there to share with you! The kids are finally out of school and I woke feeling almost giddy this morning thinking of our laidback summer…that is until I walked past our calendar! I remember when summer break was just that, a break!

Now that I have active teenagers under my roof things have taken a turn. For starters, the kids break has been shortened so the amount of time we have already feels rushed. My oldest, the linebacker, has weight & agility training 3 days a week with only 1 dead week all summer. Boy 2 is playing soccer with an out of town league, and has cross-country training to prepare for the fall season. Thankfully the girls and I don’t have any commitments during the week, only the normal church activities with a couple of special services here and there. But when I looked at all the scribble across our family calendar for the next 2 months, I will admit, I had my mad face on.

All during the school year, we rush from one thing to the next. The phrase, “Hurry up, we’re going to be late!” became redundant. My naivety had me dreaming of a calm, rush-free summer and when the realization came that our time was still not our own, I was pouty.

Then it dawned on me that the only person overbooking my schedule was me! I really dislike it when I discover that blame rests solely on me, kind of makes it hard to whine & complain when the fault is your own. When did I become this nutso, schedule driven, order barkin’ momma?!

We’ve become so accustomed to the busyness of our lives that we rarely enjoy any of it! It has just occurred to me that I have been living like a “Martha” when my heart desires to be a “Mary.” Martha, always running ragged to make sure everything is “just so.” Cooking, cleaning, errand-running, carpooling Martha. No time to relish the beauty of the moment because there is always something else that must be done, right now, Martha. Meanwhile Mary sits at the feet of Jesus simply listening to the sound of his voice & enjoying the rest that comes from being in his presence. Mary always takes times to capture the sweetness of life’s little pleasures. Chores can wait, life is but a vapor, not gonna miss a thing, Mary.

Yes, that is my desire for this summer. We will honor our commitments but on a lower key, stress-less schedule. We have been given only one life. Why rush through it and miss out on all the precious opportunities to create a memory that lasts a lifetime? Will you join me in making a vow to simply relax & enjoy these next few weeks, even in spite of whatever activities you have on tap? Let the beauty of a moment resonate in your spirit each and every day and let’s see if our outlook on life looks a little less bleak.

 

4 Responses to “~Schedule Timeout~”

  1. Steve Rebus Says:

    Beautiful! Thanks Valerie! It sounds like you’re an amazing blessing to your lovely children, enjoy the fun that you have planned for the summer! God bless you loving sister! 😉

    • Thank you, Steve! I am the one who is blessed to have them. I can’t imagine my life without all the crazy that comes with having a large family! I pray blessings for you as well, friend!

  2. Oh amen, Valerie! I am making that vow along with ya! Blessings! 🙂


Leave a Reply

