Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~Ungrateful~ August 7, 2014

Recently I have found myself dealing with a large dose of resentment with a side of bitterness.

I blame social media.

Every time I log on, I’m bombarded with vacation photos. Before y’all get all judgy on me, let’s just remember that I’m human too & deal with the same feelings and obstacles that everyone else faces.

It seems like every person I know has been somewhere fantastic during summer break. Pictures of water slides, amusement parks, mountain cabins and the beach have not be in short supply. With every smiling face standing in front of a beautiful or exciting backdrop, I felt my anger go a little deeper.

My husband works incredibly hard. We are not reckless spenders. We are faithful in our tithes. Seriously, Lord, don’t we deserve a break too?! I hadn’t been praying about much but I was whining about plenty!

The other day as I sat wallowing in self-pity, I started scrolling through the camera roll on my phone. Self-pity quickly turned to guilt. We are so blessed with wonderful friends and family who have included us in some serious good times. Rather than be thankful for those moments of fellowship, I had focused in on the one thing we hadn’t been able to do.

Guilt has been replaced with gratitude.

As you can see, we may not have been on a vacation in the traditional sense of the word, but we have done our best to enjoy every bit of this break within the constraints of a tight budget. 

I may never understand why some struggle more than others, but what I can do is be thankful for what I do have-a healthy family and friends who love on us in ways I could never repay them for. If you have found yourself in a similar “whoa is me” pit today, will you join me in looking for at least one thing you can give thanks for?

 “Be thankful in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus.”

(1 Thessalonians 5:18 NLT)

I may not like it, I certainly don’t understand it, but I do firmly believe that whatever happens in this life is directly in line with what God deems best for those of us who believe in Him.

 

 

2 Responses to “~Ungrateful~”

  1. blmaluso Says:

    Thank you for your honesty and also the call for all of us to enjoy the “simple everyday blessings”. I have struggled with the same issues, and have learned to never compare myself with the illusion of other people’s lives. It does not matter how many happy pictures of vacations, dinners out, parties, etc are posted to social media sites, that is only one dimension of their lives. There are always struggles that hearts and families are experiencing that we know nothing about. Sometimes all those vacations may be their way of temporarily escaping those issues? Not always the case, but sometimes.

    I so much agree with you…being that we must focus on the daily joys that God blesses us with. I would rather spend my days in my husband’s presence on the back deck, with the awesome relationship we have, than any exotic beach without him:-) Don’t get me wrong, the beaches are good, but I have learned where my blessings are:-) Thanks for reminding me.

    Love and blessings, Bernadette

    • I’d have to agree that we only get to see of people’s lives what they choose to show us. While I’m looking at smiling, happy families, they may be in the fight of their lives behind closed doors.
      What we do day to day creates a lasting memory for our kids just as much, if not more so, than the vacations.
      Thanks for your wisdom, Bernadette!


Leave a Reply

