Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~How, Not How Much~ September 7, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — Valerie Rutledge @ 10:00 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

It feels like it’s been ages since I’ve sat down to write when in reality it’s only been about a week.  This time of year always proves to be the most difficult to manage my time wisely.  The only reason I’m able to fire off a quick post today is my sweet baby, Bella, was up through the night with a pretty substantial fever so we’re laying low this morning while the rest of the fam is off to church.

Today I simply want to encourage the families out there like ours that are struggling to manage overloaded schedules and still have time for each other.  This past Thursday, I saw my husband for a whopping total of 5 minutes!  At this point, I’m beginning to wonder if he remembers what I look like.  The sad truth is that it’s not abnormal for us to barely see one another during the week.  He leaves for work before I get up and my evenings are full with activities for the kids.  So how do we make sure our marriage doesn’t suffer during this busy season?

My Aunt Lisa commented on a photo I shared on social media that I think applies here: “Quality not quantity.”

Our commitments are oftentimes going to pull us in different directions, our children included.  I believe the trick to keeping that separation from causing trouble in paradise is to make the absolute best of the time we do share.  If all you have is 5 minutes, tune out everyone and everything else and let your loved one know they have all of you, even if it is for a short time.  I’ll give you one more prime example.  My oldest, Isaiah, plays football which consumes a large majority of his time and all of his focus.  So I make it a priority to be at his games, to know & understand what’s happening on the field, so that we can have a quality conversation on the ride home.  It matters to him so it matters to me, and he knows it.  

If you find yourself feeling overwhelmed and underloved by the lack of time with those you hold near and dear, remember, how you spend your time together is far more important than the amount of time spent.quality

 

2 Responses to “~How, Not How Much~”

  1. Lisa Arundale Says:

    Another fabulous article. Love you!


Leave a Reply

