Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~I See You~ September 26, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — Valerie Rutledge @ 2:45 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Hey you, I see you over there criticizing yourself.

I saw you chuck that poptart at the back of your kids head as they raced for the bus sans breakfast again because you overslept which translates to defcon 5 in your mind. I saw you sink into your bathrobe as perfectly manicured neighbor lady shakes her head in dismay because she always serves her babes eggs, toast, bacon, juice, milk & apple slices for the most important meal of the day. Whatever, she’s a liar. I saw Fruit Loops in her buggy at Walmart. Besides, I was known to eat a sugary “pastry” a time or few in my youth and look at me, 33 and still kicking!

I see you too, momma of the insanely picky tot who refuses everything with nutritional value. I know they eat instant mac & canned pasta every meal & you’re freaking out about brain development. It’s cool, momma. Many a college friend lived solely on Raman Noodles and still turned out to be successful docs, attorneys & teachers. One day they’ll outgrow the picky stage and gnaw on a piece of lettuce instead of a Cheeto, who cares if today is not that day?!

And you, football mom. I was totally giving you a fist bump in my mind as you served your kid concession stand nachos last night at the game. I was the one next in line to dish out salty goodness with a side of processed cheese for supper too. So what we didn’t cook organic beef with homegrown veggies for dinner?! Our kids just leveled someone twice their size on the ball field. That’s what I’m talking about!

I’m a health conscious mom, for the most part, but we all have those days when the theme for dinner is: “good luck family, you jokers are on your own!” And it’s all good. You are not a failure because of what your kid does or does not eat. Stop being so judgy about your parenting.

Consider this an act of solidarity: the next time you see me in the store and your 3-year-old is throwing down some Nilla wafers you haven’t paid for yet, I’ll simply wink and toss some gummies at mine to silence the madness so we can make it out alive.

You’re my hero, sister. We’ll win the healthy food choice battle tomorrow.picky-eater

Sidenote: Y’all know I like to tie a Scripture in to the majority of my posts. I asked my bible app for a verse on picking your battles and this is what it gave me from 2 Timothy “Don’t have anything to do with foolish and stupid arguments, because you know they produce quarrels.” Seriously laughing out loud!

 

Leave a Reply

