Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~Itty-Bitty Blood-Sucker~ October 29, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — Valerie Rutledge @ 10:10 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Monday night, during my husband’s birthday celebration dinner, my daughter, Emma, lifted up her shirt and said, “Daddy, I’ve got this little bug on me and I can’t get it off.”

The entire table froze as we all came to the same realization at once, sweet Emma-bug had a tick.

Daddy sprung into action to remove the tiny blood-sucker. I sat glued to my chair with my mind racing over all the diseases and complications that were sure to fall upon my baby girl. Once I got over my irrational thought process, I cleaned the bite with alcohol as hubs assured me the bug from Hell was not engorged and he was able to get it out rather easily.

How is it possible that something so small can cause so much damage if left untreated?

Kind of reminds me of “little sins” left unchecked.

It amazes how often we convince ourselves that if it’s not one of the BIG sins, like murder, than it’s not really that big of a deal. Say for example you flirt with the barista at the coffee shop you frequent, harmless enough. But don’t most affairs start with seemingly insignificant encounters that build and grow into relationships that cause the parties to fall into one of the BIG sins, adultery? Most people who cheat didn’t intend to do so, it “just happened” because they left the door open by allowing that tiny sin, (the tick), to go unchecked to the point that it became poisonous to the body.

We all need to guard our hearts and minds from even the smallest of transgressions. It would be foolish for us to think that our lives can’t be ruined by such small wrongdoings. The next time you start to brush off that little slip without repentance, remember the blood-sucking tick and the damage it has the potential to cause if left in the body.safe road to hell

” If we claim we have no sin, we are only fooling ourselves and not living in the truth. But if we confess our sins to him, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all wickedness. If we claim we have not sinned, we are calling God a liar and showing that his word has no place in our hearts.” (1 John 1:8-10 NLT)

 

2 Responses to “~Itty-Bitty Blood-Sucker~”

  1. Good one Valerie!!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

