Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~Dream a Little Dream~ January 7, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — Valerie Rutledge @ 11:43 am
Tags: , , , , ,

dreamWhat is your dream? What is it that you think, “if I could do _____ every day, then my life would be complete.”?

Now, ask yourself this, is that God’s dream for your life or is it yours?

Ouch, ouch and ouch!

I don’t mean to imply that your dreams and desires don’t line up with God’s Word. What I am proposing is this, have you asked Him if they do? The Bible tells us this:

“Delight yourself in the LORD; And He will give you the desires of your heart.” (Psalm 37:4 NASB)

Some may misinterpret this Scripture to mean that if you love and serve God, then He will give you everything that you want in life. That’s not how I see it.

“And I will give you a new heart, and a new spirit I will put within you.” (Eze 36:26 ESV)

Once we invite the Holy Spirit into our lives, He gives us a new heart, one that is in line with His will for our lives. If we stay fully submitted to Him, surrendering our need for control to allow Him room to work, then we can be certain that the dreams we have for our future are from the Lord and not our own selfish wants.

I have big dreams, friends. Not only for myself and my family, but for our church family as well. I am sure that you have some pretty big dreams yourself. I have been known to pray and ask God to “make things happen” in certain areas of my life. You know what I sometimes tend to forget? To pray and ask Him to show me what He wants to happen. Boo on that! Rather than approach His throne of grace with petitions for what we think is our dream, how about we seek His face and pray that He would plant a seed in our hearts for that which He has created us to do?

 

4 Responses to “~Dream a Little Dream~”

  1. Terra Says:

    Preach! I love this, Valerie. So so true. If we ever needed a self check this is it. Thank you for sharing a much needed word. God bless you!

  2. Dawn Boyer Says:

    One of my favorite scriptures,Valerie. It is key to do just what you suggested and ask the Lord what He wants because it is when we line our hearts up with His own the reality of this message is manifested.
    A timely message, thank you!
    Blessings,
    Dawn


Leave a Reply

