Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~A Safe Life Doesn’t Require Courage~ February 3, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — Valerie Rutledge @ 9:37 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

“Sometimes all you need is 20 seconds of insane courage.” (Matt Damon in We Bought A Zoo)

Here’ the thing about courage, you only need it if what you’re about to do scares the ever-loving daylights out of you.

There are countless things we do throughout the course of a day that require little to no thought on our parts, they come naturally to us. We don’t have to weigh the pros and cons or determine the risk of that which is within our comfort zones. But you ask someone to do what is out of the ordinary for them, that goes beyond what they think they have the ability to do….that’s when the panic sets in.

That is when courage takes the stage.

It takes courage to make us step out into the unknown, especially knowing that there is a chance it will bomb.

I keep seeing a quote that says, “What would you attempt to do if you knew you could not fail?” I’d like to twist that a bit, “What would you attempt to do if you weren’t afraid to fail?”

Failure is not a bad thing. It is not our enemy. Oftentimes our greatest successes come after a string of hideous failed attempts. I’ll tell you what failure is…an excellent motivator. Because each time you pick yourself up and try just one more time, you prove to yourself that you have what it takes to push through in the face of a challenge.

I have seen the aforementioned movie a few times and not once had this line stuck out to me. However, this weekend it was simply playing in the background while I sat sending emails and it was like a jolt of lightening when it came through the speakers. On exceptionally difficult runs, a friend of mine has encouraged me before with the phrase, “I can do anything for 30 seconds,” and it has powered me through MANY times. I think that’s why this particular line caught my attention.

20 seconds, enough time to tell your fears to shut it and say “Yes, here I am. Send me.” Or, enough time to decide there’s no room for courage in your safe life and reply, “No, I can’t possibly do that.”

mark twain courage

“Be strong and courageous, and do the work. Don’t be afraid or discouraged, for the Lord God, my God, is with you. He will not fail you or forsake you. He will see to it that all the work related to the Temple of the Lord is finished correctly.” (1 Chronicles 28:20 NLT)

 

Leave a Reply

