Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~We Are Beautiful~ April 15, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — Valerie Rutledge @ 10:38 am
Tags: , , , , ,

My name is Valerie Deaune Rutledge. I am 33. I am 5’5…on a good day. I weigh somewhere between 120 & 130 pounds, I think. My clothing size varies depending on the number of carbs I’ve consumed on any given day. Stretch marks decorate the sides of my hips where my body strained under the pressure of carrying my children. My cheeks are dimpled, and I ain’t talking about the ones above my neck. There is a single age spot on my face. It’s right next to the wrinkles that feather out from the corners of my eyes, proof that I smile often & laugh easily. I have deep lines across my forehead, reminders of the times I’ve lain awake at night with worry. I have knobby knees, scaly elbows & not-so-white teeth from TOO MUCH COFFEE.

Why would I share these things with you, these personal details that most would consider flaws? Because I have had it with society defining us based on what is seen on the outside. I want to free women from the negative body images that plague us and keep us from being who we were created to be. So what my body is flawed according to the standards that are spat in our faces everywhere we look? I am so much more than a body.

I am a mom, and a pretty good one at that. I am a wife who loves her husband fiercely. I am a sister & a daughter. I am a writer. I am a friend. I am sensitive & compassionate. I love hard & forgive quickly. But most importantly, I am a child of God who tells me I am fearfully & wonderfully made. The same God who doesn’t make trash so why would I allow myself to believe that I am?

I am beautiful, so are you. Even with our flabby arms, sagging bottoms, wrinkly skin or whatever else makes us cringe when we look in the mirror. Ladies, when you stare into the eyes of your reflection, stop criticizing what you see. Begin to praise yourself for all of your amazing qualities that make you unique! Your intelligence, your sense of humor, your love for others…those are the things that make you lovely.

No more body shaming! Ignore the ads that offer quick fixes to “repair” all that is “wrong” with you. LOVE YOURSELF!

Can I offer a challenge today? Compliment your friends today, not on their looks, but on some other quality that you think makes them spectacular! I’m going to blow up some Facebook pages 🙂

beauty

 

12 Responses to “~We Are Beautiful~”

  1. blmaluso Says:

    Thank you for sharing such a beautiful truth. I am somewhere between 50-60 (closer to 60!) and am finally learning the idiocy of what society’s marketing is promoting to women. So important for women of all ages to know that their beauty, dignity and purpose have been instilled and gifted by God…all we need to do is accept those gifts.

    From one of my favorite books:

    ‘It doesn’t happen all at once,’ said the Skin Horse. ‘You become. It takes a long time. That’s why it doesn’t happen often to people who break easily, or have sharp edges, or who have to be carefully kept. Generally, by the time you are Real, most of your hair has been loved off, and your eyes drop out and you get loose in the joints and very shabby. But these things don’t matter at all, because once you are Real you can’t be ugly, except to people who don’t understand.”
    ― Margery Williams, The Velveteen Rabbit

    I will be forwarding your blog to all my friends:-)

    Love and blessings,
    Bernadette

    • That is one of my favorite stories as well and I have used that section a time or two in my life to encourage others!
      Thank you for sharing and being such an encourager to me. It’s time women get “real” with each other! We are so much more valuable than we give ourselves credit!

  2. icedmocha34 Says:

    Reblogged this on Icedmocha34.

  3. Terra Says:

    You my friend and sister are BEAUTIFUL because I love your transparency and love of God. You keep it real with us and we need more of that in this world especially us ladies. Hugs n Blessings to you! 😊 💕

  4. Julia Tomiak Says:

    Standing up and clapping here! You are beautiful, without a single bit of makeup, because everyone can see your kindness, love, and generosity shining on your face. We are so much more than our external appearance, and we need to help each other remember, and to pass this critical message on to our daughters, who are so vulnerable right now. Thank you for being a role model for my girl. 😉

    • You are so right! I never want our girls to think that what they adorn themselves with makes them beautiful! Those things are fine, but they certainly don’t determine who we are!

  5. 7128788elf Says:

    Reblogged this on charles1958 and commented:
    In quite agree, so please read this well written piece.

  6. Ms. Vee Says:

    I agree with you 100 percent. We are indeed beautiful! Thank you for writing this lovely uplifting post. Blessings!


Leave a Reply

