Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~3:2~ May 8, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — Valerie Rutledge @ 8:58 am

This morning I come to you requesting prayer. I’m talking about the earnest prayers of the righteous that availeth much.

There is weeping and gnashing of teeth. Wailing can be heard from miles away as inconsolable parents cry out, “WHY?!”

What can be the cause of grief of such epic proportions?

As of today, the odds are no longer in our favor. As of today, there are THREE teenagers in this house, bringing the ratio to 3:2. Because today, our oldest daughter celebrates her 13th birthday.

Today I will hang balloons and streamers in preparation for the chaos that comes when you invite 3 MORE teenage girls into your home all while wondering if I’ve lost what shred of sanity I had left. I’ll reminisce about the little girl who used to live here that has now been replaced with a slightly imbalanced version of her former self. Gone are the days of finding melted candy under her pillow. No more requests for barbies and baby dolls. Now her number one request is an instagram account.

While of course I am being dramatic, (slightly), I truly am a little teary eyed today. Here’s why:

This....

This little girl…..


...has become this young woman!

…has become this young woman!

Happy milestone birthday to this beautiful gift.

“I’ll love you forever. I’ll like you for always. As long as I’m living, my baby you’ll be.”

 

Leave a Reply

