Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~When Hurt Makes You Want To Quit~ June 1, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — Valerie Rutledge @ 8:01 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I am a very sensitive gal, sometimes…oftentimes…to a fault. I let my feelings get hurt and take offense when others could and do let it roll off their backs. I make no apologies for that. My sensitivity is also what helps me to connect with others.

Today, I was unfriended. I made a mistake. A misunderstanding took place in a group setting. I called it out. It was then clarified, on both parts. I thought all was right with the world. That is until a separate message came through where no one else could see it. I was accused of a handful of things that don’t bear repeating.

Ouch.

I went from furious, to hurt, to eventually over it. Here’s why.

I am 100% comfortable with the prioritization of my life.

I am confident in who God says I am.

At the ripe old age of 33, I have come to the realization that you can’t please everyone so you best just focus on pleasing God.

Hurting people hurt people. 99.9% of the time, it is unintentional. It could be someone is having a horrible day. Perhaps they are physically ill, dealing with relational issues, fighting a spiritual battle I know nothing about it…the why isn’t important, it’s just a fact that if you’re dealing with any other struggle, it will affect how you respond to any give situation. I am not excluded from this little phenom.

Lastly, because of you, my friends. I posted on social media about my hurt and that we all should be more careful in our word choices, myself included. And without fail, you lovelies did what you do best, offered love & acceptance for who I am, flaws and all.  IMG_7346

I will not deny my place in this particular hurt. I read a message and took it one way while the author claims to have intended something else entirely. This is why writing can be dangerous. If you’re not looking me in the eyes, I can very easily misinterpret what you mean. This doesn’t excuse the words that were said to me, but it does force me to take a careful look at how I post on this blog.

My only goal is to reach people through total transparency, which includes admitting when I’ve made mistakes and seeking forgiveness.

Here’s the best news, God’s Grace & mercies are new each and every morning. Breathe it in. Yesterday is over, today I get to try again to give my best for God. And I will.

The words you say will either acquit you or condemn you.” (Matt 12:37 NLT)

 

One Response to “~When Hurt Makes You Want To Quit~”

  1. Having allowed time to decompress, I feel none of the comments posted have been helpful in any way, to me, the one commenting or my readers, so they have been removed from your view.


Leave a Reply

