Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~Leave A Message After The Beep?~ June 16, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — Valerie Rutledge @ 10:45 am
Tags: , , , ,

Do you ever have one of those “aha” moments, when something suddenly clicks and you get it? I have them all the time. Sometimes it’s a nice and pleasant feeling where life just makes sense and other times it feels like I’ve been run down by an 18 wheeler! Sunday during the message, I had that squashed by a truck feeling.

The sermon was about how God answers prayers and at some point, I wrote down “If you want someone to answer you, don’t you have to call them first?” I can’t recall what Pastor said to trigger that thought but I’m guessing The Holy Spirit was trying to tell me something.

If you want or need something from the people in your circle, you have to go to them with your request. As much as we’d like to believe at times, no one can read our minds. In order for us to receive an answer, we have to first ask a question. Doesn’t that sound so simple?

While we know God to be omniscient, He does ask that we bring our petitions to Him in prayer.

Do not fret or have any anxiety about anything, but in every circumstance and in everything, by prayer and petition (definite requests), with thanksgiving, continue to make your wants known to God. (Phil 4:6 AMP)

I have found myself to be guilty of waiting for God to answer when I haven’t bothered to ask the first thing of Him. I allow my mind to settle into “God knows my wants and needs” and get lax in my prayer life. God wants a relationship with me. He wants to talk to me. He is never off duty. If I call Him, there is no answering machine informing me that my call will have to wait. He sits at the ready to hear my pleas and takes pleasure in listening to the desires of my heart.

Those five little words are all the reason you need to pour your heart out to the Lord. He’s listening, are you speaking?

 

One Response to “~Leave A Message After The Beep?~”

  1. It’s so important for all of us to stop now and then to allow His delight to sink deeply into our hearts and minds.


Leave a Reply

