Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~Set Your Mind~ October 22, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — Valerie Rutledge @ 10:15 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Yesterday, during a highly agitated moment, I text my friend Julia about my endless frustrations and she sent me the most beautiful (and timely) response: I like these lines from a prayer: “Lord, help us to be: Cheerful when things go wrong; Persevering when things are difficult; Serene when things are irritating.”

Can I get an amen?!

Seeing as how my morning got off to yet another rocky start, I quickly pulled up her message and read it again…and again…and again. Then it dawned on me that the words reminded me very much of one of my favorite verses, Romans 12:12:

Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.” (NIV)

While I love both her message & this Scripture, some days, (most days), it is far easier said then done. Life just gets in the way! I want to be full of joy and patience and faithfulness but I’m surrounded by things that suck the happy right out of me. But is it not up to you and me to not allow joy-suckers into our lives? Doesn’t the Bible teach us to set our minds on things above instead of things of the earth? In other words, focus on the One who knows all, sees all and can handle all as opposed to focusing on the problems, struggles, negativity, bad moods and overwhelming to do lists.

Today’s message is short and sweet, I almost didn’t bother to share. But I thought, “what if they don’t have a friend like mine to help them set their mind right?” So thanks, Julia, for the prayer that I needed. I hope this message makes the way into the hearts of others, who like me, have allowed a joy-sucker into their lives far too early this morning.

Be blessed….and BE a blessing!

 

2 Responses to “~Set Your Mind~”

  1. Julia Tomiak Says:

    Aw! I love this- and not just because you mention me. :). Romans 12:12 was the perfect verse to compliment the prayer- well chosen! I’m so glad to have a a friend like you to help me set my mind right. We’ve gotta help each other out because life can be exhausting! You ARE a blessing to many. Thank you for sharing.


Leave a Reply

