Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~Grateful Mommy~ January 17, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — Valerie Rutledge @ 9:11 am
Tags: , , , , ,

IMG_1818

Some days I look at any one of my babies and think surely my heart will explode from the love I feel for them. Today it’s Bella, with her sleepy eyes and tousled hair, straight out of bed in her Elsa slippers. She makes a beeline for me as I sit reading with coffee in hand and lays across my lap. There’s nothing spectacular about the moment. She does the same thing nearly every day. But today when I look at her squishy face with the dusting of freckles across her nose, I tear up.

One day she’ll stop greeting me this way. One day she’ll walk right past me to the kitchen to fix her own breakfast. One day she’s going to stop pressing her nose to mine as she promises to love me forever, even on her birthday. Thankfully, today is not that day. However, I can’t know when that inevitable day will come.

I’m not sure what’s wrong with me, why I’m so overcome with emotion, maybe I’ve been reading too many books that pull on the heartstrings!! What I do know is my children are gifts. Even when I’m worn, hurt or furious, they are my prize, my biggest accomplishment and the joy they bring far outweighs the nuisances that pepper our daily routines.

So when Isaiah puts his big man feet on every available surface, Peyton cuts me to the quick with his sometimes curt words, Autumn rolls her teenagry eyes at me, Emma stomps off in defiance or Bella dissolves into a puddle of tears over the word “no”, I pray I can recall these tender moments when love is almost tangible.

 IMG_1817
“Don’t you see that children are God’s best gift? The fruit of the womb his generous legacy? Like a warrior’s fistful of arrows are the children of a vigorous youth. Oh, how blessed are you parents, with your quivers full of children!” (Psalm 127:3-5 The Message)

 

3 Responses to “~Grateful Mommy~”

  1. blmaluso Says:

    “Some days I look at any one of my babies and think surely my heart will explode from the love I feel for them.”

    That feeling of love never goes away…my sons are in their thirties, both married, and I still feel that way. And now I have their wives (daughters) that fill my heart also, with a grandson on the way. Can’t wait for him to enter this world:-)

    Those sweet, tender moments will always stay in your heart. Although the “day to day” emotions and stages will change, that foundation of love will endure forever.

    I do know what you are saying…when my son was about seventeen, we were all watching a movie. He was sitting on the couch next to me, and without thinking, he layed his head on my shoulder. I remember feeling like I couldn’t move because I didn’t want that beautiful moment to end. I knew he would not be doing that for long.

    God bless you and your beautiful family!
    Bernadette

    • Such precious memories, thank you for sharing.
      My boys are 14 & 15 and on the rare occasion one of them brings it in for a hug, I try to inhale the moment and hang on for as long as they’ll allow!!
      I so appreciate your feedback and conversation. Thanks for taking time out of your day to be a part of mine. Blessings!!

  2. Julia Tomiak Says:

    So beautiful, so true. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

