Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~Take The Time~ November 21, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — Valerie Rutledge @ 9:02 am

The driving force behind my blog is a desire to share life experiences in hopes of helping others live out the day to day tough stuff, which in turn helps me also! I opened with that because this post has a slightly different tone, being a bit more personal than my norm, but I’m calling myself on the carpet and bringing you along with me.

So, I noticed something out of the ordinary a few days ago. I figured it was nothing and ignored it because let’s face it, I’m busy and didn’t want to add another “to do” to my list. But here we are, one week later and it’s seriously nagging at me, not from a place of fear but at the realization that if this were one of my kids, I would have already had it checked. However, when it comes to my own ailments, I tend to be rather blasé. I have actually scheduled an appointment for this one which is a big deal seeing as I also have an aversion to doc visits, no offense to my super awesome doctor friends.

Here’s the thing, most days my focus is on someone other than me. I don’t say this to gloat or paint myself in some Mother Theresa-like image. Nearly every momma I know is exactly the same! I am simply saying that I don’t often place an emphasis on my own needs. I don’t even know the last time I had a haircut! Yes, haircuts and doctor visits are like apples & oranges, just using that example to make a point. I don’t carve out time for me; not because I’m oh so selfless, more like I rarely want it & enjoy when I’m doing for others. Add to the equation the number of office visits I sit through for the kids, you have one more reason I really can’t fathom another waiting room. Who’s with me?!

Enough of my excuses.

More than likely I’ll go to this appointment and they’ll tell me I drink too much coffee, don’t sleep enough & have too much stress in my life. After I get over the audacity of someone saying the phrase “too much coffee” to my face, I’ll choose to see this as a wake up call. While my people do need my attention & focus, I can’t very well give it to them if I’ve completely neglected my own wellbeing. How can I legitimately argue the point that I don’t have time for an hour office visit once a year anyhow? I’m fussing at you too! I know full well I am not the only one who puts off taking care of their own vessel. I love you, friends. Your family needs you, your friends need you, the world needs you & I FREAKIN NEED YOU! Please, please take care of you, even with just a fraction of the effort you put into taking care of others. If you are guilty like me of forgoing a yearly checkup that no one really looks forward to, put on your big girl (or guy) pants and get it over with! You are worth it!

image

 

4 Responses to “~Take The Time~”

  1. Julia Tomiak Says:

    Yes, this is me. And I’m married to a doctor! Now that the hip has bothered me for over a year, I finally have an appointment scheduled. Probably good to have a “general look over” anyway. Thank you for reminding us that we are no good to anyone else if we don’t take care of ourselves. 🙂
    Now, I hope you practice what you preach, busy lady!

  2. Steve Rebus Says:

    Wow, thanks Valerie for knocking me off my feet again with another post of conviction!! 😀


Leave a Reply

