Peace of My Heart

An encouraging voice to drown out the noise

~Posture of Prayer~ April 18, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — Valerie Rutledge @ 6:45 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

PrayingChildHave you ever looked around you and watched how people pray?

I am a worshiper at heart.  So oftentimes, when I pray, it is with lifted hands, face towards heaven and I speak my words out loud.  Someone next to me may clasp their hands tightly in front of them, bow their head and whisper the prayers so only they and God can hear.  Then another may be at the altar on their knees with eyes squeezed shut, no words can be heard only weeping as their heart cries out to God.

Outside of church, I pray in all sorts of ways.  When driving my kids to school, I pray for a hedge of protection to surround them while they are out of my watchful sight.  My eyes are wide open with both hands on the wheel.  I may say a quick prayer for a peaceful day while doing chores around the house.  While I sit at my makeshift desk checking emails, I pray over the requests I receive through our prayer chain.  If anyone were to see me during those times of prayer, nothing about my outward appearance would say “she’s praying” unless the person is a mind reader which I find highly unlikely.

My point in this is, does God hear you any more or less based on how or where you pray?  My response would be no.  God is more concerned about the condition of your heart as you pray than He is about your posture.

Have you repented of any sin that may stand in the way of your prayers?

Surely the arm of the Lord is not too short to save, nor his ear too dull to hear.  But your iniquities have separated you from your God; your sins have hidden his face from you, so that he will not hear.

(Isaiah 59:1-2 NIV)

Are you offering a sincere request to God, or simply throwing out words as a formality?

And when you pray, do not keep on babbling like pagans, for they think they will be heard because of their many words.

(Matthew 6:7 NIV)

Do you earnestly believe that God hears your prayers?

“If you believe, you will receive whatever you ask for in prayer.” 

(Matthew 21:22 NIV)

Do you believe in the power of prayer?

The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective?”

(James 5:16)

I don’t mean to downplay the importance of being reverent in your prayer time.  I simply want to call to your attention that you can pray anywhere, at anytime regardless of your environment or what’s going on around you.  Approach God with humility and sincerity, and He will hear you.

 

2 Responses to “~Posture of Prayer~”

  1. Naomi Says:

    All too often I have confined myself to praying as routine or with only praying during “my prayer time” yet more and more God reminds me to pray everytime I feel a little stressed, to pray outloud with my children when we all seem to be at our wits end, to pray when the news reports horror, to pray always. Thank you for the reminder


Leave a comment